Raquel Caballero

Research group leader


2004-PhD in Physics, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Madrid, Spain
2000-MS in Nuclear Energy, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid-CIEMAT, Madrid, Spain
1998-BS in Physics, Universidad de Granada, Granada, Spain

Raquel Caballero received the degree in Physics from Granada University, Spain, and the PhD degree from the University Autonoma of Madrid (UAM), Spain. During 2004–2006 she was a postdoctoral researcher with Hahn-Meitner Institut, Berlin, Germany, working on wide band gap chalcopyrite for tandem PV devices. From 2007 to July 2011, she was a scientist with the HZB in Berlin, mainly working on highly efficient flexible CIGSe thin-film solar cells for space applications. From 2012 to 2018, she was a Ramón y Cajal researcher at the Applied Physics Department, UAM. At that time, she started to work with low-cost and low-toxicity materials for solar cells, as kesterite-type material and SnS on different type of substrates. During 2018-2023 she was an Associate Professor at UAM, leading the research line of sustainable materials for PV applications with the development of semi-transparent kesterite solar cells for building integrated photovoltaic applications and for multijunction devices. In 2023 she joined the Institute of Optics-CSIC as tenured scientist, founding the Technologies for Energy group.

Victor Bonal


2022-PhD in Materials Science, Universidad de Alicante, Alicante, Spain
2017-MS in Materials Science, Universidad de Alicante, Alicante, Spain
2016-BS in Physics, Universidad de Valencia, Valencia, Spain
Since 2023 postdoctoral researcher at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid in collaboration with IO-CSIC.

David Palma Lafuente


2021 MS in Advanced Materials, Nanotechnology and Photonics, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
2020 MS in Energy and Fuels for the future, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Madrid, Spain
BS in Chemistry, Universidad Complutense, Madrid, Spain

 Since 2021 PhD student at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
(directed by Raquel Caballero and José Manuel Merino)

Main collaborators

Dr. José Manuel Merino, Departamento de Física Aplicada

Dr. Snezana Lazic, Departamento de Física de Materiales

Dr. Antonio Mariscal, Departamento de Física Aplicada

Prof. Dr. Alejandro Pérez Rodríguez

Dr. Yudania Sánchez

Dr. Víctor Izquierdo

Dr. Maxim Guc

Dr. Edgardo Saucedo

Dr. Marcel Placidi

Dr. Susana Fernández

Dr. Gema San Vicente

Dr. Christian Kaufmann

Prof. Dr. Susan Schorr

Dr. Galina Gurieva

Dr. Sascha Sadewasser

Dr. Samira Khelifi

Prof. Dr. Maarja Grossberg-Kuusk

Ac. Prof. Dr. Ernest Arushanov

Dr. Iván Fernández (CEO)

Former students

  • Iván Martín Infantes

      Master student, 2023

  • Mario González

     Undergraduate student (Physic), 2023

  • Pablo Diez Silva

     Undergraduate student (Physic), 2022

  • Cristian López Carnicero

     Master student, 2022

  • David Palma Lafuente

     Master student, 2021

  • Andrea Ruiz Perona

     Master student, 2020

  • Miguel Rodríguez Lozano

     Undergraduate student (Physic), 2020

  • Michael Sun

     Master student, 2019

  • Guillermo Sánchez Huertas

    Undergraduate student (Physic), 2018

  • Alberto González Sánchez

    Undergraduate student (Physic), 2017

  • Eduard García Llamas

    PhD student, 2012-2016

  • Guillermo García López

    Undergraduate student (Physic), 2016

  • Noelia Martín Castañeda

    Master student, 2016

  • Carlos Galve Mateo

    Undergraduate student (Physic), 2014

  • Victor Condé

    Master student, 2014

  • Martin Antoine Durand

    Master student, 2013


1234 Divi St. #1000
San Francisco, CA 39325
Get Directions

Library Hours

Thurs – Sat : 10am – 6pm
Sun : Closed
Mon – Wed : 10am – 8pm

Contact Us

(235) 462-4623



Follow Us

Utilizamos cookies en este sitio para mejorar su experiencia de usuario. Más información

Aviso de cookies